Meteora is an impressive complex of giant dark rocks, rising out of Kalambaka, near the lowest points of Pindos and Chasia.
The Meteora monasteries, built on top of some of the rock pillars, are the second most important complex of Greek Orthodox monasteries, second only to Mount Athos. Once there were 30 monasteries; now only six of them have survived, included on the UNESCO World Heritage List.
These are: The Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron, the Holy Monastery of Varlaam, the Monastery of the Holy Trinity, the Holy Monastery of St. Stephen, the Holy Monastery of Rousanou, and the Holy Monastery of St. Nicholas Anapausas.
The view from the monasteries and also the view of Meteora itself are unique.

You can visit most of the monasteries (winter hours are 09:00 to 14:00
and summer hours are 09:00 - 17:00).
You can check with monastery hours on the following numbers

  • Holy Monastery of Great Meteoron 24320-22278,
  • Holy Monastery of Varlaam 24320-22277,
  • Holy Monastery of St. Stephen 24320-22279,
  • Holy Monastery of St. Nicholas Anapausas 24320-22375,
  • Monastery of the Holy Trinity 24320-22220,
  • Holy Monastery of Rousanou 24320-22649

Important notice: Make sure to call before visiting, as there is the possibility that visiting hours may vary.

Kastraki is a little village at the shadow of the hills, like Kalabaka; the later though is now so touristic that has lost its old charm.

Read more about the location ▼